25 Jul

Annual Montreal Political Theory Manuscript Workshop with Lea Ypi and Jonathan White

Research Workshop on

The Meaning of Partisanship

Annual Montreal Political Theory Manuscript Workshop
with Lea Ypi & Jonathan White
Arts Council Room 160, McGill University

The Groupe de recherche en philosophie politique de Montréal (GRIPP) is pleased to announce a one-day workshop dedicated to the 2015 co-winner of the Annual Montreal Political Theory Manuscript Workshop Award, “The Meaning of Partisanship,” by Lea Ypi and Jonathan White of LSE.

Format: To maximize the quality of discussion, participants are expected to have read the manuscript beforehand. The workshop comprises four sessions dedicated to the manuscript. Each session will begin with brief critiques of chapters of the manuscript, followed by a brief response by the author and general discussion.

Registration: The workshop is open to everyone, but attendance is by registration and limited in number. RSVP the workshop coordinator : Isaac Stethem.

Manuscript: Click here for access to manuscript. Access requires a password, which all participants will receive upon registration. (If you experience difficulty opening the PDF, ensure that your browser opens the file with the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.)

9 – 10:30
1. The Partisan Claim
2. The Public Good: Partisans and their Doubles
3. Partisan Political Justification

Christian Nadeau (philosophie, Montréal)

1-2: Jacob T. Levy (politics, McGill)
3: Travis Smith (politics, Concordia)

10:30 – 10:45
Coffee Break

10:45 – 12:30
4. Partisanship and Political Commitment
5. Associative Obligations
6. Partisanship in Time

Pablo Gilabert (philosophy, Concordia)

4. Catherine Lu (politics, McGill)
5. Dominique Leydet (philosophie, UQAM)
6. Damien Bol (political economy, KCL)

12:30 – 13:45

13:45 – 15:15
7. Partisan Compromise: DW
8. Revolutionary Partisanship: WR

Christine Straehle (public affairs, Ottawa)

7. Daniel Weinstock (law, McGill)
8. Will Roberts (politics, McGill)

15:15 – 15:30
Coffee Break

15:30 – 17:00
9. Transnational Partisanship: Idea and Practice
10. Democracy Without Partisanship

Matthias Fritsch (philosophy, Concordia)

9. Russell Muirhead (government, Dartmouth)
10. Patti Lenard (public affairs, Ottawa)